Movie 366 – Week 6 – Back on Track

February 6, 2012

Feb 5th

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – The fourth Harry Potter movie. As a Doctor Who I was really looking forward to this one as David Tennant is in it. Sadly he didn’t appear much, which is a shame as I could sit and watch that guy act all day long. When he does appear, he’s terrific. Movie isn’t as good as The Prisoner of Azkaban but is still entertaining. The choice of Mike Newell as director surprised me, but he did a marvelous job. The visual effects of the series continue to amaze. The sequence where Harry fights a dragon was incredible. Also on the minority front, something I’ve complained about before seems to be lessening as the series continues. I don’t know why it stuck out so much in the first movie, but it did. The series really picked up after the fire Chambers of Secret and despite everything I ever thought I’d think about Harry Potter I’m really looking forward to watching the final four movies.

Feb 6th

Cedar Rapids – A very low key, funny movie about a small town, naive insurance salesman attending a convention in Cedar Rapids. Worth watching for fans of The Wire as the actor who played Clay Davis is in it. His character at one point announces that he’s a big fan of The Wire which may be the funniest in joke I’ve heard in a long time. John C Reilly, who I normally can’t stand, is terrific. Anne Heche is absolutely adorable in this too. One of those movies that just flies by and leaves you wanting to spend more time with these characters. Really sweet film that I highly recommend. 4/5

Black Sheep – New Zealand movie about genetically engineered sheep running around killing people. Visual effects done by Weta, the folk responsible for Lord of the Rings. Ridiculous premise but really fun and some great lines. 3/5

Feb 8th

The Rum Diary – A beautifully shot movie based on the novel by Hunter S. Thompson. Johnny Depp stars as Paul Kemp, a newly hired reporter at the San Juan Star on Puerto Rico. The atmosphere is seductive. This is what I call a vacation movie. By that I mean the sort of movie that takes you away from this life. Makes you wish you could be there. I loved this. Some reviews have criticized it for its pace, but given the subject matter and the location the movie drifts along delightfully. Just wonderful. 4/5

Feb 11th

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix Terrific movie. Really hit its stride in the last two. The wizard battle at the end is epic. Enjoying the series exponentially more than I expected. 5/5

Total Movies Watched: 35 of 366

