CME – Movie #30 – DIE HARD

December 16, 2016

I really wanted to keep going but I can’t take yet another piece of garbage film. This year has been a tale of highs and lows. SO MANY BAD MOVIES! I just can’t take it.

So I’m bowing out with DIE HARD! I’ve not touched on it before, but did mention it earlier in the series due to Alan Rickman in Love Actually. This evening will be tinged with sadness as I get to watch what is, IMO, the greatest villain performance in cinematic history until Heath Ledger’s Joker.

You know the plot. Bruce Willis goes to visit his estranged wife on Christmas Eve. “Terrorists” take over the building. Fun ensues.

This was a genre defining movie. Until this film action movies were always bullet proof hero, unlimited ammo, and barely a scratch. Die Hard was the first film where the hero gets the absolute crap kicked and beaten out of him. Whereas prior movies ended with Arnie or similar brushing the dust off victorious, John McClane ends the movie cut, bleeding and battered. This forever changed action movies, for the better.

“But it’s not that Christmassy”. Nonsense. The score through is CHRISTMAS MUSIC! It’s set during a CHRISTMAS PARTY! AND IT’S CHRISTMAS EVE! AND IT ENDS WITH DEANO!

Do I really need to say anything else?

5 out of 5 Jingle Bells

I WILL be carrying on to see if I can WATCH 50 Christmas movies in the run up. However from this point it will mostly be dupes. Stuff I’ve already reviewed. Or older stuff I’ve just not gotten around to doing. (Jingle All The Way for example).

The snark train is parked. But the movie train will roll on.

